2017 Career Achievement Awards

The 2017 Career Achievement Awards were presented at the 77th Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

2017 Career Achievement Awards Committee:  Prashant Bordia (Chair), The Australian National University, Trish Reay, University of Alberta, Carlo Salvato, Bocconi University,  Mara Olekalns, Melbourne Business School, and Lois Tetrick, George Mason University.

Distinguished Educator Award

The Distinguished Educator Award is presented annually to an outstanding individual who has excelled in developing doctoral students, effective teaching in the classroom, fostering pedagogical innovations, and/or disseminating new teaching methods and designs.

The 2017 Academy of Management Distinguished Educator Award was presented to Michael A. Hitt.


Distinguished Scholar-Practitioner Award

The Distinguished Scholar-Practitioner Award is an all-Academy award presented annually to a candidate who demonstrates long-term, significant contributions in one or more of the following areas: Successful application of theory or research in practice and/or contribution to knowledge through extraction of learning from practice; authorship of scholarly works which have substantively affected the practice of management; and integration of research and practice that is respected by peers (both practitioner and academic).

The 2017 Academy of Management Distinguished Scholar-Practitioner Award was presented to Ronald J. Burke.


Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is an all-Academy award presented annually to a candidate who has demonstrated excellence in developing or enhancing a field of study, founding or creatively editing a journal, or helping to build institutions through creative or unusually effective service.

The 2017 Academy of Management Distinguished Service Award was presented to R. Duane Ireland.


Award for Scholarly Contributions to Management

The Award for Scholarly Contributions to Management is granted on an annual basis for significant contributions that have advanced the field of management and organizational knowledge and practice. Significant scholarly contributions may take the form of conceptual, theoretical, or empirical developments having significant impact upon management knowledge and practice.

The 2017 Academy of Management Distinguished Award for Scholarly Contributions to Management was presented to Susan J. Ashford.


  • icon-facebook
  • icon-twitter
  • icon-youtube
  • icon-linkedIn
555 Pleasantville Road, Suite N200, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510, USA
©2020 Academy of Management