2015 George R. Terry Book Award

The Academy of Management's George R. Terry Book Award is granted annually to the book judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to the global advancement of management knowledge during the last two years. Books recognized for this award have made a significant impact on the advancement of management theory, conceptualization, research, or practice are eligible for this prestigious award.

After a thorough review of over 40 submissions, the committee is pleased to announce the 2015 George R. Terry Book Award recipient:

A Process Theory of Organization
Tor Hernes

Terry Book Award - Winner (2)

The 2015 George R. Terry Book Award was presented on Sunday, August 9, 2015, at the 75th Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The presentation took place during the Presidential Address and Awards Ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver.


Congratulations to the finalists for this year's award:    

Terry Book Award - Finalists

The Cultivation of Taste: Chefs and the Organization of Fine Dining (Christel Lane)     
 Give and Take: A Revolutionary Approach to Success (Adam Grant)    
 Manufacturing Morals (Michel Anteby)   
 Plastic Money: Constructing Markets for Credit Cards in Eight Postcommunist Countries (Akos Rona-Tas and Alevtina Guseva) 


Award Committee
Michael Lounsbury, University of Alberta (Chair), Peer C. Fiss, USC, Marshall School of Business; Charles Galunic, INSEAD; Sally Maitlis, Said Business School; and Renate Meyer, WU Wien.


  • icon-facebook
  • icon-twitter
  • icon-youtube
  • icon-linkedIn
555 Pleasantville Road, Suite N200, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510, USA
©2020 Academy of Management