2019 Board of Governors Election Results

The Academy of Management (AOM) is pleased to welcome four new members to the Board of Governors for the 2019-2020 term. Terms began at the close of the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management (9-13 August 2019 in Boston, MA, USA).

Board of Governors for 2019-2020 Term

President Jacqueline A-M. Coyle-Shapiro 
President-Elect Quinetta Roberson
Vice President and Program Chair Herman Aguinis
Vice President-Elect and Program Chair-Elect Amy Hillman
Past President Carol T. Kulik

Representatives at Large
Diana Bilimoria, Elizabeth George, Morten Huse, Søren H. Jensen, Tammy L. Madsen, Isabel Metz, Nelson Phillips, Chris Quinn Trank, and Batia Mishan Wiesenfeld 

Board Members for 2019-2020 Term

Vice President-Elect/Program Chair-Elect Amy Hillman

Representatives at Large
Morten Huse
Isabel Metz
Nelson Phillips

Vice President-Elect/Program Chair-Elect

Amy Hillman

Amy Hillman is a Professor of Management and the Charles J. Robel Dean’s Chair of the W. P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University. She received her Ph.D. from Texas A&M University in Strategic Management and Business and Public Policy and was formerly on the faculty of Michigan State University and the University of Western Ontario.
Dr. Hillman is former editor of Academy of Management Review (AMR), former associate editor of Academy of Management Journal (AMJ), a Fellow of the Academy of Management and in 2018 received the Academy of Management’s Distinguished Educator Award. Her previous service to Academy of Management also includes the editorial boards of AMJ, AMR, and AMLE as well as serving the STR (BPS) division as a member of the executive committee and research committee, co-chairing mid-career and new faculty consortia, and on the SIM best paper committee. She is currently a member of the STR and OMT divisions.

Her research focuses on corporate political strategies, boards of directors, and corporate strategy. Hillman’s corporate experience includes serving as the general manager of a retail and manufacturing clothing business prior to joining academia, consulting for major corporations on corporate strategy and facilitating strategic planning, and advising companies on strategies to influence public policy. She serves as the director and chair of the Nominating and Governance committee of Nasdaq traded CDK Global, a member of AMERCO’s independent governance committee, and serves on the non-profit boards of the Association for the Advancement of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) and the ASU’s Research Park.

Representative at Large

Morten Huse

Morten Huse is Professor of Organization and Management at BI Norwegian Business School with over 30 years of international academic experience. He has held professor positions in Germany, Italy and the Scandinavian countries, as well as visiting scholarships at universities in several other countries, including Australia and the U.S.
During the 1990’s he contributed significantly in internationalizing AOM, and in 1998-2001 chaired AOM’s ‘International Themes Committee’. He has been actively involved in several AOM divisions, particularly SIM and ENT. Morten was a founding member of CMS, and has been a member of AOM’s Advisory Council and of AOM’s Ethics Committee. He has also been a member of the Strategic Management Society for 25 years. From 2010-2012, he was the President of the European Academy of Management (EURAM).

Morten is conducting phenomenological and programmatic research on boards of directors, gender and stakeholder issues, and a distinct research stream about ‘value-creating boards’ developed around his work. He is presently involved in research in Italy, India and the Middle East.

His research and teaching is characterized by mentorship, which includes a sharing and open philosophy. He has signed both the DORA and RRBM declarations/calls, and thus focuses on impact and importance. He has been awarded for championing the economic development of women (TIAW). He worked for one decade in business before taking his Ph.D. He has frequently served as speaker internationally, for academic, practitioner and political audiences, including in various parliaments and financial institutions. 

Representative at Large

Isabel Metz

Isabel is a Professor of Organisational Behaviour at the Melbourne Business School, University of Melbourne. She received a Bachelor of Science from the University of Witwatersrand (South Africa), MBA from Melbourne Business School, and Ph.D. from Monash University (Australia). Her pre-academia career was in Banking and Finance, and thus champions research that is directly relevant to managers and employees. Isabel’s research aims to simultaneously help organizations manage talent and help individuals manage their careers.

Isabel has been published in leading academic journals and has won prizes for research papers at conferences. Isabel is a member of the GDO, OB, HR, Careers and Research Methods Divisions, and of the Diversity & Inclusion Theme Committee (D&ITC). She has served as a reviewer, presenter, session chair and discussant, and member or chair of various GDO, OB, HR, Careers and AOM committees, including the Executive Committees of Careers (2006-2010), GDO (2013-2016), and D&ITC (2010-2017). Isabel was also the Chair of D&ITC from 2015-2016.

Isabel appreciates the value of diversity. She is a Portuguese descendant, born in Mozambique, who lived in Europe and graduated in South Africa and now she lives in Australia with her husband and three children. She regularly provides media commentaries and speaks at industry forums. Isabel teaches in the areas of Management, HRM, and Managing Diversity in the Workplace. Her diverse experiences and research interests align directly with AOM’s mission to build a vibrant and supportive community of scholars. Isabel aims to contribute to AOM’s continued success and strategic goals.

Representative at Large

Nelson Phillips

Nelson Phillips is the Abu Dhabi Chamber Chair in Innovation and Strategy at Imperial College Business School in London, UK. Prior to joining Imperial in 2005, he was the Beckwith Professor of Management Studies at the Judge Business School at Cambridge University from 2001-2005, and a faculty member in the Faculty of Management at McGill University from 1993-2001.

He completed his Ph.D. in organizational analysis at the University of Alberta in 1995. Professor Phillips’ research interests cut across strategy, innovation and leadership, and he has published widely for academics and practitioners including papers in AMJ, AMR, AMLE and Annals. He was the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Management Inquiry from 2008-2017 and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Organization: Management & Innovation. He has served on a number of editorial boards including the boards of Organization Studies, Academy of Management Journal, and the Academy of Management Perspectives. He is also currently a board member of the Societyfor the Advancement of Management Studies (the parent organization of the Journal of Management Studies).

Nelson’s previous experience at AOM includes his role as representative-at-large for the OMT Division from 2009-2011 and joining the executive committee of the OMT Division on the five-year track from 2012-2017. In 2018, he received the Joanne Martin Trailblazer Award from the OMT Division. He has been a member of AOM since 1992 and has attended 24 of the last 25 AOM Annual Meetings.

  • icon-facebook
  • icon-twitter
  • icon-youtube
  • icon-linkedIn
555 Pleasantville Road, Suite N200, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510, USA
©2020 Academy of Management